Wow.

29 Aug

I’ll start by saying thanks to everyone who has, and continues to come visit us at The Red Hot. It has been an insane 2 weeks, and today is the first day where I’ve seen to be able to take a step back and breathe for a sec. It has been totally awesome, and I am stoked to have a dream come true.

People of Tacoma, you truly love hot dogs. It is a rarity that I only serve one to someone. Two and three are the norm, and I have an all-star eater who put down 4 in a row, and would have done 5 if time permitted. She hopefully will be entering in our hot dog eating competition when we get that rolling.

Most problems have been sorted out, takeout orders are on the upswing, and I have received a huge amount of thanks from my neighbors, which is something I have always strived to be…a neighbor, not a business in the neighborhood. Since most of our kinks have been worked out, here are a few additions we’ve made:

1.) Happy Hour. Happy Hour is from 3-6pm, Monday thru Friday. $2 domestics, and $3 micros.
2.) Monday Nights. Starting September 10th, we’ll be opening for Monday Night Football. I wouldn’t classify the Red Hot as a sports bar, but I loves me some football. It will probably be 3pm to 10pm for Monday’s hours, but it could change slightly. We will be running a Polish Sausage dog special.
3.) Hot Dog availability. Hot Dogs go to 10pm, not 9pm as it’s previously been. We’ve made some changes in our “kitchen”, and made some operating and ordering changes, to keep it going later. Hopefully I can get it to 11pm on weekends, but for now…10pm every night. “Kitchen” is in quotes because apparently even though the health department, the state, and my insurance company classify it as such, people “in the know” say otherwise. 😉
4.) $2 Tuesdays. I do this every Tuesday. I’ll pick a handle, and all day that pup is $2 a pint. Nuff said. (p.s.-Tonight, 8/28, is Rogers Pilsner from Georgetown Brewery, if you’re so inclined).

Coming soon: website, Wooden Nickle Club, Hot Dog Eating Competition, and Running the Gauntlet.

Thanks again to all my neighbors, new friends, and regulars. Thanks also to the local blogging community who truly support home-grown businesses in our city. Your help was and is greatly appreciated.

I’ll post more regularly, and thanks to everyone who has come in and started off by saying “Yeah, I read your bolog and…”. AMAZING.

6 Responses to “Wow.”

  1. KevinFreitas August 29, 2007 at 6:03 am #

    I happen to like your “kitchen” and don’t let anyone play it down. If I could have your setup in my own home I’d die happy.

    We’ve really been enjoying your place. Exciting to hear about those changes and I know you’ll pull ’em in for Monday night football.

    Cheers!

  2. KevinFreitas August 29, 2007 at 6:05 am #

    Hell, I’m not even a football kinda’ guy normally but I’d come hang out to watch it at the Red Hot.

  3. bowie August 29, 2007 at 4:46 pm #

    Whoo-hoo! You are gonna get sick of me! Beer and dogs, here I come!

  4. The jLO August 30, 2007 at 9:51 am #

    Seriously and impartially: Best dogs yet. The chili and the slaw is on point. I grew up in a Georgia home so I know the value of vinegar, whether in slaw or BBQ (real BBQ, not grilling). The chili is tangy, without being cloying, creamy or “beany”. I like that it’s real meat, not paste, and it’s real tasty.

    The dogs have bite, the tunes are rockin’ and the Frito Pie is amazing. I had never had Frito Pie until you offered it. It’s a new household favorite. Delicious!

    I really want to try everything, but I keep getting hung up on the slaw dog. That said, I will run the gauntlet, hopefully before anyone else does. I have a stomach for this particular cuisine. I may have to take a “personal” day to recover so I don’t distress my co-workers though!

    Now just make up a sign for that cheesy nacho chip delivery system!

  5. The jLO September 4, 2007 at 4:41 am #

    It wasn’t quite a hot dog, but I did rather enjoy a foot long corndog at Bumbershoot yesterday. Would’ve been better had it been fresh from the fryer, but it was still pretty tasty.

  6. Dan Halligan September 5, 2007 at 4:19 pm #

    Hey Chris, Amy and I are more than likely stopping by tonight to check out the new digs!

Leave a comment